NSF Grant Allocated to South Dakota Career Clusters Program

South Dakota Department of Education targeted a $200,000 grant from the National Science Foundation towards the enhancement, expansion and development of new initiatives in secondary career clusters programs.

The monies will fund school projects focused on four career clusters: science, technology, engineering and math; information technology; health science; and agriculture science. Projects range from dual-credit opportunities in information technology to courses in pre-engineering and biosciences. The career clusters programs are aligned with the objectives of South Dakota’s High School 2025 initiative, which aims to educate students and families about career opportunities and prepare them for postsecondary education.

The grant is part of NSF’s Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research program, which is designed “to strengthen research and education in science and engineering throughout the United States and to avoid undue concentration of such research and education.”

The education department received 19 applications from schools to receive funding during this grant cycle. South Dakota officials awarded eight schools with funds:

• Alcester-Hudson High School • Brookings High School • Canton Middle School • Chamberlain High School • East Dakota Educational Cooperative • Mitchell High School • Platte/Geddes High School • Sioux Falls middle schools

For more information, visit South Dakota’s EPSCoR website.

Tags: , ,

Comments are closed.